Girl Power Will Save the World: Climate Activists to Watch

Girl Power Will Save the World: Climate Activists to Watch
Earth Day Follow Up
by Lindsey Turnbull

I believe in two things: 1. girl power will save the world and 2. we can all make a difference on this planet. As someone who wants to protect the earth for its human and animal inhabitants, I’ve been so pleased to see youth organizing, like the Youth Climate March, Youth Climate Strike, Youth Climate Summit, and more. These events reaffirm my belief in the power of youth and my hope for the future of this planet.

To celebrate Earth Day all year round, follow these amazing, teen girl, activist powerhouses on Instagram (and their friends!):

Youth Activists:

Madeline Elisa | @madelineelisa
Youth Climate Strike Marcher, Sunrise Movement, Green New Deal advocate

Nadia Nazar | @mickey_nadia
Co-founder, Co-executive director, Art director, This is Zero Hour

Jamie Margolin | @jamie_s_margolin
Co-founder, This is Zero Hour, author,Youth to Power,  Plaintiff, Youth v. Gov

View this post on Instagram

Today I am joining the #FridaysForFuture family and I will now #SchoolStrike every Friday until all #AmazonRainforest deforestation has stopped 🌳 . I am striking here in the United States in solidarity with the school strikers in my family’s home country of Colombia 🇨🇴 , where much of the Amazon Rainforest is. I was inspired by the bravery of the Latin America #Fridays4Future movement and the youth there who risk so much in dangerous circumstances to break the rules for what is right. If they can do it, I can do it. If the Amazon Rainforest is deforested any more, we lose the battle for survival for life on earth. So I am joining my Latin American siblings in breaking the rules for #climatejustice and joining their fight to protect the green places of #Latinoamérica 👊🏼! Feel free to join me everyone. #SaveTheAmazon #FridaysForForest #ThisIsZeroHour #SchoolStrikeforClimate

A post shared by Jamie Margolin (@jamie_s_margolin) on

Absa Fall | @absaweird
Organizer, Youth Climate Summit

Isra Hirsi | @israhirsi
Co-executive Director, US Climate Strike

View this post on Instagram

my girls (+my mini succulent)

A post shared by isra hirsi 🧚🏾‍♀️ (@israhirsi) on

Haven Coleman | @climateactivist
Co-founder, Co-executive director US Climate Strike

Butterfly | @releaf4us
FridaysForFuture Youth Climate Striker

Elsa Mengitsu | @elsamengitsu
Operations Director, This Is Zero Hour, Grist 50 Fixer

Alexandria Villasenor | @alexandrav2005
Extinction Rebel, founder, Earth Uprising

Iris Fen Gillingham | @iris.fen
Organizer, ThisisZeroHour, Earth Guardian

Greta Thunberg | @gretathunberg
Founder, Climate Strike, FridaysforFuture

Youth-Led Organizations: 

This Is Zero Hour | @thisiszerohour
“We are an intersectional movement of youth activists fighting for a livable planet for all.”

US Youth Climate Strike | @USClimateStrike
“A movement of youth who demand bold climate action while recognizing the importance of grassroots organizing and intersectionality.”

Youth Climate Summit | @youthclimatesummitusa
“We are a network of high school students dedicated to providing youth with the skills and connections to be better climate advocates”

Earth Guardians | @earthguardians
“We are a tribe of young leaders, activists, artists and musicians from across the globe collaborating to defend our planet.”

Sunrise Movement | @sunrisemvmt
“Building a movement of young people uniting to stop the climate crisis. This dark hour in America cannot last.”

Earth Uprising | @earth_uprising
“The youth are leading an #EarthUprising to fight climate change!”

#FridaysforFuture, weekly school strikes protesting the government’s lack of climate action, founded by Greta Thunberg

Related Reading

American History: Centering Youth Activism by Lindsey Turnbull

Learning from the Voices of Herstory: Activist Suzy Post by Olivia Marcum

Proud to be Gen Z by Alina Wilson

1 thought on “Girl Power Will Save the World: Climate Activists to Watch”

Leave a Reply